Edinburgh 1742 / Whelan, Ensemble Marsyas

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The popular Ensemble Marsyas returns with a diverse programme of concerti, wind music and Scottish songs by composers Francesco Barsanti and George Grideric Handel, centred around the music composed for The Edinburgh Musical Society. Horn soloists Alec Frank-Gemmill and Joseph Walters take centre stage in Handel's Concerto for French Horns, exemplifying the extraordinary vogue for horn music at this time. Timpanist Alan Emslie joins them for Barsanti's Concerti gross Op. 3, an unusual concertino comprising timpani and natural horns. Barsanti's four ''Old Scots Tunes'', notable as one of the first examples of Scottish Traditional music to be faithfully transcribed, introduces fiddle player Colin Scobie. Completing the programme is Handel's aria 'Sta nell'Iracana' from Alcina, featuring mezzo-soprano Emilie Renard, and the March for Wind Band, HWV 346.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CKD567

  • UPC: 691062056724

  • Label: Linn Records

  • Composer: Francesco Barsanti, George Frideric Handel

  • Conductor: Peter Whelan

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Ensemble Marsyas

  • Performer: Alan Emslie, Alec Frank-Gemmill, Colin Scobie, Emilie Renard, Joseph Walters