Einar Englund: Cello Concerto, Aphorisms (Symphony No 6)

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Einar Englund broke away from the Finnish National Romantic trend with his neoclassical First Symphony, establishing him as Finland's most prominent composer since Sibelius. He went on to weather heavy criticism during the 1950s for not jumping onto the modernist bandwagon, which rolled into Finnish academic music with dogmatic serialism in tow. Rather, he stuck with emulating his idols, Stravinsky and Bartók.
Englund's 1954 Cello Concerto, performed on this CD by Jan-Erik Gustafsson and the Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra, rings with the composer's affinity for Bartók. With an instrumental texture closely resembling Bartók's Concerto for Orchestra, Englund's Concerto also employs Bartók's quartal harmony and folk-style melodies. His 'Aphorisms,' a setting of the aphorisms of Heraclitus for orchestra and chorus, also brings Bartók to mind, but evokes Sibelius in its use of the chorus.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ODE 951-2

  • UPC: 761195095126

  • Label: Ondine

  • Composer: Sven Einar Englund

  • Conductor: Eri Klas

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Jan-Erik Gustafsson