Ekmalian: Piano Works - ArkivMusic

Ekmalian: Piano Works

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Makar Grigori Ekmalian, a student of Rimsky-Korsakov, played a significant role in the development of Armenian music in the 19th and 20th centuries, expanding its genre boundaries and contributing to the formation of a new national musical language. The folk-song arrangements represent Ekmalian’s skill in blending Armenian lyrical expressiveness with European stylistic colors. His magnum opus, the Patarag (Divine Liturgy) was canonized in 1895, and is still in use by the Armenian Church today. This album of world première recordings by the acclaimed Armenian pianist Mikael Ayrapetyan are performed from the composer’s unpublished manuscripts.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 14, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP894

  • UPC: 747313989423

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Makar Grigori Ekmalian

  • Performer: Mikael Ayrapetyan