English String Miniatures Vol 4 / David Lloyd-jones, Et Al

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Volume 4 of the continuing Naxos series "English String Miniatures" brings more excellent performances of music that's uniformly attractive and easy on the ear, most of it more familiar than in previous installments. The strings of the Northern Sinfonia under David Lloyd-Jones give every indication that they're enjoying themselves, with alert ensemble, flawless tuning, and the same persuasive care over fine detailing that's been a key attribute of earlier issues. The Delius Aquarelles, for instance, yield the fullest range of expressivity and dynamic contrasts, and there's superb playing in Holst's Moorside Suite, with a neat, witty scherzo and a briskly energetic march enclosing Lloyd-Jones' exquisitely managed account of the central Nocturne. The two Frank Bridge pieces, especially the Scherzo Phantastick, delineate the virtuosity and skill of the Northern Sinfonia, but the less well known pieces also receive sympathetic performances. Peter Hope's Momentum Suite, so-called for its accelerating finale, and the English Suite by Paul Lewis are highlights, but this is a finely played and agreeably recorded program throughout.--Michael Jameson, ClassicsToday.com

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2002

  • Catalog Number: 8555070

  • UPC: 747313507023

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Adam Carse, Frank Bridge, Frederick Delius, Gustav Holst, Paul Lewis, Peter Hope

  • Conductor: David Lloyd-Jones

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Northern Sinfonia