Farrenc: Symphonies Nos. 2 & 3 / Konig, Solistes Europeens, Luxembourg

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Pursuing a musical career was no easy matter for women in the nineteenth century, but Louise Farrenc’s character and determination resulted in her becoming a respected part of the European scene, and the first ever female senior professor of piano at the Paris Conservatoire. Farrenc’s Second Symphony owes something to Mozartian models, with imaginative writing for winds and hints of Beethoven. The Third Symphony is notable for a richness of harmonic writing which, in its color and lyricism, is reminiscent of Mendelssohn and Schumann.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 13, 2018

  • Catalog Number: 8573706

  • UPC: 747313370672

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Jeanne-Louise Farrenc

  • Conductor: Christoph König

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Luxembourg Solistes Européens