Karchin: Five Compositions 2009-2019

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Composer Louis Karchin has created a substantial body of work to date, including his recent opera "Jane Eyre" (recorded for NAXOS) and more than half a dozen pieces for orchestra, and a plethora of chamber and vocal compositions. BRIDGE's second Karchin release presents five recent works composed during the past decade 2009-2019, featuring the composer's "Chamber Symphony" (2009). Over a career spanning more than four decades, composer LOUIS KARCHIN has amassed a portfolio of over 95 compositions, appeared as conductor with numerous performing ensembles, co-founded new music groups, including the Chamber Players of the League-ISCM, the Orchestra of the League of Composers, the Washington Square Ensemble, and the Harvard Group for New Music, and overseen the formation of a graduate program in music composition at New York University. His works have garnered distinguished honors, including three awards from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, a Guggenheim Fellowship, four National Endowment for the Arts Awards, and Koussevitzky, Barlow, and Fromm commissions. A citation from the American Academy praised his Songs of John Keats as “a striking conception, in which the sonic properties of the poetry interact with musical material in unprecedented fusion.”


This is a superbly recorded and expertly performed recording made with outstanding musicians, many of whom are dedicatees of the pieces they are playing. Louis Karchin’s music is rewarding if not ‘easy’, the rewards coming from an appreciation gained over more than a few hearings of these works. The Chamber Symphony is certainly a masterpiece, and the subsequent chamber works are by no means mere fillers.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 06, 2020

  • Catalog Number: BCD9543

  • UPC: 090404954320

  • Label: Bridge

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Louis Karchin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Washington Square Ensemble

  • Performer: Margaret Kampmeier, Sam Jones, Han Chen, Alice Teyssier, Ashley Jackson, Renée Jolles, Susan Jolles