French Concertos for Trumpet / Merkelo, Nagano, Montreal

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Considered to be one of the best trumpeters of his generation, Paul Merkelo is reputed for his “unusual lyrical gifts” (Gramophone). With the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, he presents three rarely recorded masterpieces for trumpet and orchestra. One work is by the rigorous Alfred Désenclos, a favorite of the academy. Henri Tomasi by contrast, was ever the pragmatist, eschewing systems and methods in favor of a popular aesthetic. Meanwhile André Jolivet belonged to a movement that valued the spiritual aspect of music. The works presented here offer a nuanced perspective on French musical thought and the growing importance of the solo trumpet in 20th century music. On this recording, Merkelo offers a performance that will cement his reputation as one of the better trumpeters today.

Solo trumpet with the Montreal Symphony Orchestrasince 1995, Mr Merkelo is regularly praised by the Montreal press as “a spectacular soloist...a most impressive master of his instrument” (Montreal Gazette), a “great virtuoso...dazzling” (La Presse). He has been featured frequently with the OSM, including tours to South America and Lincoln Center in New York. Paul Merkelo has been featured with orchestras, and in recital, throughout the US, Canada, Russia, China, Japan, Portugal, Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, France and Thailand.

Kent Nagano is renowned for interpretations of clarity, elegance and intelligence. He is equally at home in music of the classical, romantic and contemporary eras, introducing concert and opera audiences throughout the world to new and rediscovered music and offering fresh insights into established repertoire.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 17, 2015

  • Catalog Number: AN29847

  • UPC: 774204984724

  • Label: Analekta

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Alfred Desenclos, André Jolivet, Henri Tomasi

  • Conductor: Kent Nagano

  • Performer: Paul Merkelo