Ginastera: Panambi, Estancia / Ben-Dor, London Symphony

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Ginastera's two early ballets continue to sustain his reputation among music lovers, even though he wrote quite a bit of worthwhile music in a variety of styles (including one of the most exciting and appealing dodecaphonic piano concertos ever). The two suites, which include less than half of each ballet, omit a great deal of colorful, attractive music. Gisèle Ben-Dor originally recorded this disc for Conifer, magnificently both in terms of playing and sound, so it's wonderful that Naxos has rescued these performances from oblivion. Even if you were only interested in the music from the two suites, this would be the preferred version to have (just listen to Estancia's final Malambo, and you'll be sold), so you might as well have it all. In any event, there is no competition for the complete works, and at the price this is a steal. If you missed this release the first time around, you have no excuse now. [12/5/2006]--David Hurwitz,

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8557582

  • UPC: 747313258222

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Alberto Ginastera

  • Conductor: Gisèle Ben-Dor

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Luis Gaeta