Giordano: Siberia / Noseda, Orchestra del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Gabriel Faurè considered Umberto Giordano’s Siberia to be one of the most interesting and singular works of the early 20th century. The opera’s tragic narrative follows Prince Alexis’s courtesan Stephana. She falls in love with an innocent soldier, Vassili, who is sent to Siberia for killing the Prince. Stephana gives up her life of luxury to follow him but cannot escape her past. With its intensely Russian atmosphere and passionately soaring melodies, Siberia was Giordano’s favorite among his operas. This acclaimed Fiorentino production was greeted with multiple ovations.


It’s the artistry with which the piece is tackled that convinces one that Siberia is unfairly neglected: the richness of tone, expressive subtlety and sense of style that Sonya Yoncheva (Stephana), Giorgi Sturua (Vassili), and George Petean (Gleby) lavsh on the piece is just what is needed.

-- BBC Music Magazine

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: DYN-37928

  • UPC: 8007144379285

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Umberto Giordano


  1. Siberia

    Composer: Umberto Giordano

    Ensemble: Orchestra e Coro del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino

    Performer: Sonya Yoncheva (Soprano), Giorgi Sturua (Tenor), George Petean (Baritone), Caterina Piva (Mezzo Soprano), Giorgio Misseri (Tenor), Antonio Garés (Tenor), Francesco Verna (Baritone), Emanuele Cordaro (Bass), Francesco Samuele Venuti (Baritone), Joseph Dahdah (Tenor), Alfonso Zambuto (Tenor), Adolfo Corrado (Bass), Davide Piva (Bass), Amin Ahangaran (Bass), Caterina Meldolesi (Soprano)

    Conductor: Gianandrea Noseda