Gliere: Symphony No 3 "Il'ya Muromets" / Falletta

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“The Glière Symphony No 3 has always been a piece that shimmered on my horizon—a cult piece, in a way, renowned as the composer’s towering masterpiece but rarely played in concert. As long as a Mahler symphony and enormous in its instrumental requirements, it was a work that people spoke about reverently but almost never heard live. The recording was an adventure that changed our orchestra, strengthened us, and became an artistic benchmark for our musicians. We revelled in the gorgeous landscape of the Symphony—from mysterious bass murmurings to crushing walls of brass fortissimo to breathtaking impressionistic renderings of forests and birds. We performed and recorded this massive work uncut to preserve Glière’s extraordinary architecture. This work is a cathedral in sound that unfolds in breathtaking swashes of colour, poetry and monumental climaxes.” – JoAnn Falletta

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 25, 2014

  • Catalog Number: 8573161

  • UPC: 747313316175

  • Label: Naxos

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Reinhold Gliere

  • Conductor: JoAnn Falletta

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra