Handel: Messiah / Graden, St. Jacobs Kammarkor, Rebaroque

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This recording of Handel’s masterpiece captures the performance of the Messiah in the years since 2011. Recorded live from three performances in late November 2016, it’s the expression of a close collaboration between choir and baroque orchestra. For many years St Jacobs Kammarkör, Rebaroque and their leader Maria Lindal have enjoyed the performances of many great works of the sacred repertoire. When the baton changed hands and it was time to continue the Messiah tradition with a new team it was only natural that Rebaroque and St Jacobs Kammarkör once again combined forces for the Messiah performances. This performance reflects a cherished collaboration between a group of instrumentalists, four leading Swedish soloists and a cathedral chamber choir. There was an unavoidable sense of responsibility when the Cathedral’s Messiah performances fell on their lot, and also of great joy and gratitude in being afforded the opportunity to carry an important tradition forward.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2018

  • Catalog Number: PRCD2080

  • UPC: 822359023093

  • Label: Proprius

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel

  • Conductor: Gary Graden

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: REBaroque, St. Jacob's Chamber Choir

  • Performer: Anna Zander, Karl Magnus Fredriksson, Kerstin Avemo, Michael Weinius