Handel: Saul / Purves, Davies, Bolton

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Handel’s oratorio Saul is taken from the First Book of Samuel, and focuses on the first king of Israel’s relationship with David, his eventual successor, which eventually leads to his demise. The three act work with libretto by Charles Jennens premiered in January 1739, and was an immediate success. This production directed by Barrie Kosky was recorded live at Glyndebourne Opera House, Lewes, October 2015. It was ranked by The Independent amongst five top opera and classical performances of 2015. “Musically this evening is well-nigh flawless.” (The Independent) “A theatrical and musical feast of energetic choruses, surreal choreography and gorgeous singing.” (The Guardian)

Subtitles: English, French, German, Korean
Sound Formats: 2.0LPCM, 5.1(5.0) DTS
Running Time: 185 mins
Region Code: 0 (All)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 24, 2016

  • UPC: 809478012160

  • Catalog Number: OA 1216D

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel

  • Conductor: Ivor Bolton

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

  • Performer: Benjamin Hulett, Christopher Purves, Iestyn Davies, John Graham-Hall, Lucy Crowe, Paul Appleby, Sophie Bevan