Handel: Winged Hands - The Eight Great Suites & Overtures / Corti

Regular price $27.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
After the album Bach, Little Books, harpsichordist Francesco Corti continues his collaboration with Arcana with a 2-album recording entirely dedicated to George Frideric Handel. At the center of the project are the eight “Great” suites. These masterpieces were the composer’s first published set, and are a clear testimony to his virtuosity at the keyboard. Their characteristically diversified styles reflect not only the mélange of national traditions assimilated by the young composer, but also his phenomenal improvisatory talent. Moreover, the attraction of these pieces lies in their melodic and rhythmic affinity to the world of singing and orchestral writing, Händel’s strongest interests. Arrangements of Handel’s operatic overtures and arias started circulating early in his career in England, and in his later years he was known to perform his overtures on the keyboard himself. Corti designs a program showcasing the composer’s brilliant treatment of the instrument, choosing to complement the “Great” Suites with a selection of transcriptions from Händel’s own hand and from his close musical circle.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: A499

  • UPC: 3760195734995

  • Label: Arcana

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: George Frideric Handel

  • Performer: Francesco Corti