Hosokawa, Jost & Zimmermann: Nobody Knows

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

One of the most versatile trumpeters in the classical world, Simon Höfele, releases a new album “Nobody Knows” together with the BBC Symphony Orchestra under Geoffrey Paterson and Ilan Volkov. On his 4th album on Berlin Classics, he plays the trumpet concertos by Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Christian Jost, and Toshio Hosokawa, spanning an arc from the 20th to the 21st century. He proves once again that the trumpet can do more than just "shine". “These three works are really important to me. I have played all three before, and I was always fascinated by their darkness.”, he explains his choice of repertoire. “This is heavy, almost depressive music, and that applies to all three of these works. This is heavy music in two respects: loaded with gloom, and also not at all easy to play. This is a definitive political message to “Nobody Knows de Trouble I see”, which makes it even more fascinating.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 05, 2023

  • Catalog Number: 0302712BC

  • UPC: 885470027128

  • Label: Berlin Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Toshio Hosokawa,Christian Jost,Bernd Alois Zimmermann

  • Conductor: Ilan Volkov,Geoffrey Paterson

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: BBC Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Simon Hoefele