Isaac: Choralis Constantinus 1508 / Utz, ensemble cantissimo

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The Choralis Constantinus is one of the most important motet collections of the Renaissance period. Heinrich Isaac wrote it during 1508 to a commission from the chapter of Constance Cathedral. A large number of the total of 375 motets are now largely unknown. ensemble cantissimo, founded in 1994, is one of the most sought-after vocal ensembles in German-speaking countries. The name “cantissimo“ says it all: a concentration on a cappella singing, the highest discipline of choral music. A special emphasis is also put on discovering and rediscovering the works of forgotten (and new) composers. With their characteristic style of interpretation and exciting program selections, the German and Swiss singers under the direction of their founder Markus Utz delight critics and audiences alike. ensemble cantissimo has worked intensively on the collection for several years. The singers present a selection of festive motets on this album – an impressive testament to the first musical golden age of the Renaissance. A magnificent rediscovery!

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CV83.524

  • UPC: 4009350835245

  • Label: Carus

  • Period: Renaissance

  • Composer: Heinrich Isaac

  • Conductor: Markus Utz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: ensemble cantissimo