Isaac Stern - A Life In Music - Hindemith, Copland, Bloch

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
...By far the most interesting box in Sony's 31-volume "Isaac Stern - A Life in Music" is the fourth (® CD SX12K67196; 12 CDs), which contains Vols. 23-31 and includes a number of recordings that are either first-ever releases or new to the UK... [Alexander] Zakin takes over [as accompanist] for...a concert of music by Hindemith (the 1939 Sonata, recorded in 1946), Bloch (Baal Shem and the First Violin Sonata - recorded in 1961 and 1959, respectively) and a 1968 recording of the Copland Sonata with the composer at the piano (Vol. 28). This is a really superb recital...

-- Gramophone [9/1996]
reviewing the complete "Isaac Stern - A Life in Music" box set

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: SONY64533

  • UPC: 074646453322

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Aaron Copland, Ernest Bloch, Paul Hindemith

  • Performer: Aaron Copland, Alexander Zakin, Isaac Stern