Bach & Rheinberger: The Goldberg Variations / Liva, Valentini

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Learn more about this recording on the Naxos Classical Spotlight podcast!

The 19th-century reclamation of Bach’s music, spearhead by Mendelssohn and then Schumann, was later to be further developed most famously by Ferruccio Busoni. However, another key figure was composer and organist Joseph Rheinberger, whose arrangement for two pianos of the Goldberg Variations was made in the spring of 1883. Noting that the work had been ‘the object more of theoretical appreciation than musical performance’ Rheinberger sought to clarify its imitative polyphony and where he felt it necessary, added new parts of his own writing to the original score, to create a viable Bach-Rheinberger composition.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: December 01, 2023

  • Catalog Number: DYN-CDS8002

  • UPC: 8007144080020

  • Label: Dynamic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Joseph Gabriel Rheinberger, Johann Sebastian Bach

  • Performer: Matteo Liva, Elena Valentini


  1. Goldberg Variations, BWV988

    Composer: Johann Sebastian Bach

    Performer: Elena Valentini (Piano), Matteo Liva (Piano)