Janáček: Jenůfa / Nylund, Herlitzius, Skelton, Elgr, Schwarz, Rattle, Staatskapelle Berlin

Regular price $26.39
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Jenůfa is still Janáček’s most successful and most often performed opera, and the Berlin premiere at the Staatsoper in 1924 brought the work its final breakthrough on German stages. This performance from Berlin’s Staatsoper Unter den Linden is “artistically unsurpassable. There are three reasons for this. Firstly, the cast [...], secondly: the direction [...], thirdly: Simon Rattle, the Staatskapelle and the chorus of the Staatsoper” (BR Klassik).

“Simon Rattle revs up the Staatskapelle Berlin with a passion as if he had to fill a melodrama by Giacomo Puccini with bursting sound life.” (Süddeutsche Zeitung)

“A beguiling mixture of speaking articulation and tonal roundness.” (Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 760408

  • UPC: 814337016760

  • Label: C Major

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Leoš Janáček

  • Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Staatskapelle Berlin