John Damgaard plays Beethoven, Chopin & Brahms

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
As he turns 80 years old, Danish pianist John Damgaard is still going strong. This release features immaculate performances of pieces by three composers close to his heart: Late Beethoven and Chopin sonatas are paired with a truly strong-willed version of the Brahms Handel Variations. The release includes Damgaard’s informative booklet notes that point out new and intriguing sides to the pianistic Handel variations. A release for all lovers of great piano playing. The Danish pianist John Damgaard (1941-) studied at Eastman School of Music (New York), The Royal Danish Conservatory of Music in Copenhagen with Georg Vasarhelyi and later with Ilona Kabos in London and Wilhelm Kempff in Italy. From 1969-1984 John Damgaard was assistant professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Music and 1979-81 guest professor at Musashino Academia Musicae in Tokyo, Japan. From 1984-2005 he held the academic position of professor at The Royal Academy of Music, Aarhus. John Damgaard has given concerts in USA, Canada, Mexico, Russia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Italy, France, Belgium, Japan, Australia, primarily with classical, romantic programs, but almost always including Danish piano works. He has performed more than 31 different piano concerti.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: DACOCD910

  • UPC: 5709499910009

  • Label: Danacord Records

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Performer: John Damgaard