Julian Bream - The Ultimate Guitar Collection

Regular price $9.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Selections recorded 1959-83.This compilation contains both ADD and DDD recordings.This collection is a treasure trove of essential guitar works played by one of the most...
Selections recorded 1959-83.
This compilation contains both ADD and DDD recordings.
This collection is a treasure trove of essential guitar works played by one of the most renowned guitarists in the world. Apart from Bream's jubilant rendition of Vivaldi's Concerto in D and delicate performances of works by Dowland and Cutting, this CD is understandably devoted to Spanish and Brazilian composers, the source of the world's best-loved and most enduring works for guitar.
Mateo Albeniz was a Basque composer whose specialty was sacred works, but this early work, originally written for piano, has a fresh style that recalls Scarlatti and Soler. 'The Miller's Dance' by de Falla is a popular favorite due to its infectious and dramatic strummed passages. Tarrega's 'Recuerdos de la Alhambra' is a popular favorite that is memorable for its difficult tremolo (played with effortless aplomb by Bream). The singular and musically revolutionary mind of Villa-Lobos is represented by his dramatic Preludes, which are dark-hued works with cello-like melodies. But the standout here is Rodrigo's 'Concierto de Aranjuez,' one of the greatest work for guitar and orchestra ever written. This ravishing and sparkling performance under the baton of John Eliot Gardiner is no doubt the greatest modern rendition of this spirited and timeless work.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 09, 1999

  • UPC: 743213370521

  • Catalog Number: 74321337052

  • Label: RCA

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Enrique Granados, Francis Cutting, Francisco Tarrega, Gaspar Sanz, Heitor Villa-Lobos, Isaac Albeniz, Joaquín Rodrigo, John Dowland, Manuel de Falla, Mateo Pérez de Albeniz

  • Conductor: John Eliot Gardiner

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Monteverdi Orchestra

  • Performer: Julian Bream