K. Stockhausen: Zyklus Fur Einen Schlagzeuger; Klavierstuck X

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On this CD, "Zyklus für einen Schlagzeuger" ["Cycle for One Percussionist"] can be heard in two different versions performed by two different performers, Max Neuhaus and Christoph Caskel. Stockhausen originally wrote it as a required piece for the Kranichstein Percussion Competition in 1959. He deliberately did not determine the length of the piece's performance, so as not to be overly specific concerning the work's multiplicity of meanings, the different characters of various performances, or the technical abilities of the players. Max Neuhaus, for example, tried to find the best possible positions or arrangement of the individual instruments relative to each other to form them into one "instrument". In addition, he developed his own playing techniques specially adapted to the piece and instrument. For "Klavierstück X", Stockhausen combined two extremes: The work is based on the attempt to mediate between relative disorder and order, chaos and balance. The interpretation on this CD was performed by the legendary pianist Frederic Rzewski.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 03, 2012

  • UPC: 4010228677225

  • Catalog Number: WER67722

  • Label: Wergo

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Karlheinz Stockhausen

  • Performer: Christoph Caskel, Frederic Rzewski, Max Neuhaus