Kernis: Dreamsongs - 3 Concertos / Neubauer, Roman, Miller, Royal Northern Sinfonia

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Winner of the 2002 Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition, 1998 Pulitzer Prize, and 2011 Nemmers Award, Aaron Jay Kernis is one of America’s most honored composers. His music appears prominently on concert programs worldwide, and he has been commissioned by America’s preeminent performing organizations and artists, including the New York Philharmonic, San Francisco, Toronto, and Melbourne (AU) Symphonies. The Viola Concerto – composed for the soloist Paul Neubauer – was in its first instance inspired and informed by the viola music of Robert and Clara Schumann, but takes on a number of other influences. Taking the performers own interest in folk music as an influence too, the final movement A Song My Mother Taught Me is based on the well-known Yiddish song Tumbalalaika. Dreamsongs also follows folk influences, following inspiration from sources including aboriginal ‘dreamsongs’ and the West African djembe drum. A virtuosic work, it was developed in collaboration with the cellist Joshua Roman who features as soloist in this recording. Conductor Rebecca Miller leads the Royal Northern Sinfonia in the final work Concerto with Echoes, inspired by the Sixth Brandenburg Concerto.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: SIGCD524

  • UPC: 635212052426

  • Label: Signum Classics

  • Composer: Aaron Jay Kernis, Robert Schumann, Traditional

  • Conductor: Rebecca Miller

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Royal Northern Sinfonia

  • Performer: Aaron Jay Kernis, Joshua Roman, Paul Neubauer