Khachaturian: Spartacus - 1968 Version / Jurowski, DSO Berlin

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.


While Spartacus will probably never replace Gayane in the affection of the general public, it remains a colorful and exciting score in the composer’s characteristic style. In reviewing the complete score played by the Bolshoi under Algis Zhuraitis (IMP), Lawrence Hansen was pleasantly surprised how much good music the complete ballet has...Zhuraitis’s familiarity with the score gives the music a coherence, drama, and compactness most recordings of the suite lack. On Capriccio Michail Jurowski’s Berlin players lack the sheer Russian character of the Bolshoi, but his smoothly blended strings and healthy vigor have much to recommend them.

-- American Record Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 01, 1998

  • Catalog Number: C10817-18

  • UPC: 845221002231

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Aram Khachaturian

  • Conductor: Michail Jurowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin