Kirsten, Ko, Lash, Young: Unsnared Drum / Compitello

Kirsten, Ko, Lash, Young: Unsnared Drum / Compitello

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Michael Compitello's "Unsnared Drum" reframes how people think about, perform, and practice the snare drum, freeing the drum from its historical and idiomatic chains. It asks whether the snare drum can be bold, coy, suave, and elegant: in short, interesting. The album features works written in close collaboration with Compitello by Nina C. Young, Hannah Lash, Amy Beth Kirsten, and Tonia Ko; surprising and inventive new works for solo snare drum. The result is a collection of pieces which highlight the snare drum’s breadth of sonic possibility and depth of expressivity, revealing an instrument of drama, grace, and heart.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: FCR310

  • UPC: 690277902000

  • Label: New Focus Recordings

  • Composer: Amy Beth Kirsten, Hannah Lash, Nina C. Young, Tonia Ko

  • Performer: Michael Compitello