1. Komitas: Songs (Arr. for Piano by Villy Sargsyan) / Ayrapetyan - ArkivMusic

Komitas: Songs for Solo Piano / Y. Ayrapetyan

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Komitas was a priest, a musician and a pioneer of ethnomusicology, considered to be the founder of the Armenian national school of music. A significant part of his life was taken up with travel to remote villages, collecting thousands of traditional songs. These range from simple melodies and poetic sketches of Armenian landscapes, to dramatic lyrics expressing mournful tragedy. Komitas was enthralled by the way ‘a peasant learns this art in nature’s embrace, with nature as his infallible school.’ Heard here in world première recordings, these idiomatic arrangements by Villy Sargsyan importantly preserve the composer’s modal-intonational system.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: GP895

  • UPC: 747313989522

  • Label: Grand Piano

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Vardapet Komitas

  • Performer: Yulia Ayrapetyan