Antheil, Beethoven, Cage, Feldman: The World According to George Antheil / Kopatchinskaja, Ahonen

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
George Antheil called himself a ‘Pianist-Futurist’. A lover of speed, cars and airplanes, the American composer settled in the Paris of the Années Folles, where he frequented Picasso shows and Stravinsky concerts, and composed works such as the Sonate sauvage and Jazz Sonata, which caused a scandal: during a concert in Budapest, he even brandished a pistol to restore silence in the hall . . . He hero-worshipped Beethoven, whose pieces he played in the first part of his recitals before moving onto his own music. In 1933, he returned to the United States, where he met John Cage and Morton Feldman. Patricia Kopatschinskaja and the young Finnish pianist Joonas Ahonen – whom The Times, following what the journalist described as ‘one of those concerts you remember for ever’, presented as the violinist’s ‘doppelgänger’! – pay tribute to the self-proclaimed ‘Bad Boy of Music’.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 13, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA797

  • UPC: 3760014197970

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: George Antheil

  • Performer: Patricia Kopatchinskaja