L'Opera / Kaufmann, Billy, Bavarian State Orchestra

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The world’s greatest tenor, Jonas Kaufmann, returns to the opera world for his latest recording, L’Opéra. The album features a selection of the greatest arias and duets from the best of the 19th century French opera composers. Kaufmann presents an album of music that embodies the flair, opulence, mystique and timeless elegance of Paris and French culture – opera at its greatest moment. L’Opéra includes tenor hits such as Massenet’s “Pourquoi me reveiller”, Bizet’s big aria from Carmen “La fleur que tu m’avais jetée” and his famous tenor-baritone duet from The Pearl Fishers “Au fond de temple saint”, as well as Roméo’s big number “L’amour, l’amour…ah lève toi soleil” composed by Gounod, and Offenbach’s timeless aria for Hoffmann “O Dieu, De quelle ivresse.” Jonas is joined in the studio by The Bavarian State Orchestra, the magnificent orchestra resident at the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, and French conductor Bertrand de Billy who bring his innate French flair to the recording. The album also features guest vocalists soprano Sonya Yoncheva and baritone Ludovic Tézier.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 88985390762

  • UPC: 889853907625

  • Label: Sony Masterworks

  • Composer: Ambroise Thomas, Charles Gounod, Edouard Lalo, Georges Bizet, Giacomo Meyerbeer, Hector Berlioz, Jacques Halévy, Jacques Offenbach, Jules Massenet

  • Conductor: Bertrand De Billy

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bavarian State Orchestra

  • Performer: Jonas Kaufmann