Love's Embrace / Banse

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Juliane Banse’s current concept album, entitled “Love’s Embrace,” is devoted to orchestral Lieder of the early twentieth century and presents works and composers who have been very unjustly forgotten. The romantic lyrics have catchy melodies and lightweight orchestration; they are easily on a par with the well-known orchestral Lieder by Mahler or Strauss. An excellent opportunity to regain familiarity with Late Romantic orchestral Lieder by Hans Pfitzner, Joseph Marx, Walter Braunfels and Erich Wolfgang Korngold, and to experience them in exemplary interpretations. Together with the Munchner Rundfunkorchester conducted by Sebastian Weigle, Juliane Banse recorded the orchestral Lieder in a studio production by the Bayerischer Rundfunk in March 2015.


Juliane Banse, a former pupil of the great opera and lieder singer Brigitte Fassbaender, has excelled in lieder herself. She has recorded several collections on CD, notably Schumann, Brahms and Berg. Clearly Banse is in her element with these lied selections. She gives warm, deeply committed performances. Her attractive voice cuts through the often-rich orchestral sound with ease. Impressive too is Banse’s high register with noticeably fine presence and clarity.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BRK900322

  • UPC: 4035719003222

  • Label: BR Klassik

  • Composer: Erich Wolfgang Korngold, Hans Pfitzner, Joseph Marx, Walter Braunfels

  • Conductor: Sebastian Weigle

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Munich Radio Orchestra

  • Performer: Juliane Banse