Maelstrom / Antoine Dawans, Duplex

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Damien is a mysterious violinist who plays in the “non-classical” style and prefers rock. Didier, a pillar of the Belgian folk and world music scene. It is these differences that truly characterize the band; a duplex, a duality – equilibrated by Oliver Cox’s forceful drumbeats and Quentin Nguyen’s distinctive keyboard tones. The result of their creative communion is Maelstrom – a dreamy and surreal musical travel diary that draws from journeys both real and imagined, inspired by European literature, popular culture and Belgium’s rich seafaring tradition. This musical journey around the world is comparable to Le tour du monde en quatre-vingts jours, Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne. It’s a hypnotic waking dream traversing the globe and time in an anarchic voyage of nostalgia and discovery – touching down in countries such as Canada and Bulgaria, the cities of London and New York, before finally landing on a Caribbean beach. Every song on the voyage has a distinct European vibe with world music influences interlaced throughout.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 27, 2023

  • Catalog Number: EUCD2959

  • UPC: 5019396295926

  • Label: ARC Music

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Various

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Duplex