1. Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1-2; 4-9
  2. Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1-2; 4-9

Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1-2; 4-9

Regular price $112.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Also available on Blu-ray

The eight Mahler symphonies contained in this box were all recorded live as part of the Leipzig Mahler cycle that began with the acclaimed Mahler Festival in 2011. They once again confirmed the Gewandhausorchester's reputation as a Mahler reference orchestra, which was consolidated in particular thanks to the intensive examination of Mahler's work under the direction of former Gewandhaus Kapellmeister Riccardo Chailly, who emphasized the compositional qualities of the works, traced the origins of their interpretive history and avoided false pathos and sentimentality despite all the drama and urgency. This becomes clear especially in the more than two hours of documentation material which supplements these exceptional Mahler recordings. In addition to Riccardo Chailly, leading Mahler experts such as Henry-Louis de la Grange and Reinhold Kubik give an insight into Mahler's works and their interpretation. In addition to its musical excellence, the Leipzig Mahler cycle impresses with its graphic design. Each cover of the cycle is adorned with a work by the Leipzig painter Neo Rauch that was inspired by Mahler's music and painted specifically for this cycle.

Excerpts of reviews from previously released volumes in this set:

Mahler: Symphony No. 7 / Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig

The Leipzig players do Chailly proud. There are so many stunning solos, from tenor horn at the start to the first trumpet who never splits brilliant top notes in the finale. This of all symphonies requires a terrifying amount of preparation - there's none better than this one.

– BBC Music Magazine

Mahler: Symphony No. 5 / Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig

Chailly is a pleasure to watch, being neither over-demonstrative nor affectedly matter-of-fact. If the rest of this projected second Chailly Mahler cycle is as good as this, then I suspect we have treats aplenty in store.

– Gramophone (Editor's Choice, November 2014)

Chailly's latest Mahler Five surely has the best of all possible worlds for this comprehensive darkness-to-light epic. It's rewarding to see the Leipzig Gewandhaus strings articulating with such mobile engagement.

– BBC Music Magazine

Mahler: Symphony No. 9 / Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig

Here we have something very special, and a good deal more than 'just another Mahler Ninth. This Leipzig Ninth is Chailly off the leash, liberating the music in a way that is impassioned, positive, fitfully fractured and often ethereal. He flicks the Symphony's heartbeat opening into action with the most economical of gestures.

– Gramophone (Editor's Choice, November February 2015)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 25, 2021

  • Catalog Number: ACC70504

  • UPC: 4260234832228

  • Label: ACCENTUS Music

  • Number of Discs: 8

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler

  • Conductor: Riccardo Chailly

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Berlin Radio Chorus, Leipzig Gewandhaus Childrens Choir, Leipzig Gewandhaus Choir, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra, Leipzig MDR Radio Choir, Leipzig Opera Chorus, Leipzig St. Thomas Choir

  • Performer: Christiane Oelze, Christina Landshamer, Dietrich Henschel, Erika Sunnegårdh, Georg Zeppenfeld, Gerhild Romberger, Lioba Braun, Ricarda Merbeth, Sarah Connolly, Stephen Gould