Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 / Scherchen

Regular price $26.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

With Mitropoulos, Walter and Kempler, Hermann Scherchen was among the most constant promoters of Mahler’s music in the years in which the Bohemian musician was little considered. These interpretations of the First (1954) and Second (1958) Symphony, which we already proposed 15 years ago, deserve to be reprinted and known above all for the beauty of the sound and for the fact that every critical edition relating to Mahler refers to the art of Hermann Scherchen.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: April 07, 2023

  • UPC: 8051773574092

  • Catalog Number: WS121.409

  • Label: Urania Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler

  • Performer: Hermann Scherchen


  1. Symphony No. 1

    Composer: Gustav Mahler

    Ensemble: Philharmonic Symphony Orchestra of London

    Conductor: Hermann Scherchen

  2. Symphony No. 2

    Composer: Gustav Mahler

    Ensemble: Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, Vienna Philharmonic Chorus

    Performer: Mimi Coertse (Soprano), Lucretia West (Contralto)

    Conductor: Hermann Scherchen