Mandolino e Fortepiano / Torge, Hambitzer

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Following Mandolino e Violino in Italia we are now releasing Mandolino e Fortepiano with the acclaimed mandolin virtuoso Anna Torge, who “inspires fascination above all with her surprisingly cantabile, most finely articulated, melodically and harmonically intelligent playing, as is extremely rarely the case on a plucked instrument” (Neue Musikzeitung). A mandolin with four courses is used for the selection of works heard on this album. The elegant and sensitive sound of the instrument was produced with gut, copper, and silver-plated strings plucked with a quill or plectrum made of bark. In 1804 Johann Nepomuk Hummel composed his festive and graceful Grand Sonata, which today may be regarded as the last great work of what is known as the classical zenith of the mandolin. The Sonata by Gabriele Leone will transport listeners to the sound world of the galant sensitive style and demonstrate the highly developed performance artistry of this period. The mandolin’s association with the network of Europe’s noble families led to its dissemination and popularity in all the countries of the Continent. For example, the National Library in Lisbon contains in its holdings Sonatas for Mandolin and Piano by the Portuguese composer Porto Feliziano. Even the young Beethoven, attracted to the beauty and charming mandolin playing of Comtesse Josefine Clary-Aldringen, wrote ravishing works for mandolin and keyboard.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 04, 2019

  • Catalog Number: 555112-2

  • UPC: 761203511228

  • Label: CPO

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Gabriele Leone, Johann Nepomuk Hummel, Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Performer: Anna Torge, Gerald Hambitzer