Martinu: Complete Symphonies / Valek, Prague Radio Symphony

Regular price $35.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The sextuplet of Martinu symphonies originated within a very short time frame (Symphonies Nos. 1-5 within a mere five years – from 1942 to 1946 in the USA; Symphony No. 6, designated Fantaisies symphoniques, was completed in 1953) at a time when the composer enjoyed general acclaim and was bursting with creative energy. It was as if only on a new continent, where he was driven by war and was warmly welcomed, could Martinu muster up the courage to plunge into this classical form and seek to catch up on what he had “missed out on” until then. Following in the footsteps of a number of leading Czech conductors, the demanding task was this time undertaken by the seasoned Vladimír Válek with the Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra. The complete recording was made in 2006-2007 at Czech Radio and reflects the high artistic level of this internationally renowned ensemble. Following the well-received Dvorák and Tchaikovsky symphonies, it is the third symphony set of the Czech Radio Symphony Orchestra released by Supraphon.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 22, 2008

  • Catalog Number: SU3940-2

  • UPC: 099925394028

  • Label: Supraphon

  • Number of Discs: 3

  • Composer: Bohuslav Martinů

  • Conductor: Vladimír Válek

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Prague Radio Symphony Orchestra