Mehul: Complete Symphonies / Swierczewski, Et Al

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Sunday Times (London) Record of the Year - 1989.

Winner of Grand Prix, Academie Charles Cros - 1990

Released to mark the bicentenary of the French Revolution, this is the only set of Méhul's complete symphonies on CD. In his day, Méhul was France’s most famous composer - his many operas placed him alongside Beethoven and Cherubini. Typical of music in Napoleon's times, the symphonies are characterised by brilliance and virtuosity, qualities brought out by the partnership between Michel Swierczewski and the Orchestra of the Gulbenkian Foundation. Although forgotten by the Parisian establishment they are important in the development of the symphony before Berlioz. - Nimbus

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: NI5184-5

  • UPC: 710357518423

  • Label: Nimbus

  • Composer: Etienne-Nicolas Méhul

  • Conductor: Michel Swierczewski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gulbenkian Foundation Symphony Orchestra Lisbon