Mendelssohn: Complete String Symphonies / Lev Markiz, Et Al

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

These exuberant works were all composed between 1821 and 1824, by a composer who had not yet turned 15. They were performed in the Mendelssohn family residence in Berlin, at Sunday concerts during which musicians from the court orchestra performed and the young Felix and his sister Fanny would appear as soloists when called upon. The opportunity to trace the development of an extremely talented prodigy into a confident composer makes this collection highly interesting. But first and foremost it is a source of tremendous pleasure, with delightful music incorporating influences from Mozart and Haydn, as well as from the Baroque up to and including C.P.E. Bach in expert performances by the Amsterdam Sinfonietta (formerly known as Nieuw Sinfonietta Amsterdam) and Lev Markiz. As described at the time of the original release by the reviewer in Gramophone it consists of 'life-enhancing music from the adolescent fast on his way to such miracles as the Octet and Overture to A Midsummer Night's Dream. And performances to match from a group with brilliance of execution and beautiful even tone as a starting-point for the classical athletic grace, joie de vivre, and often striking ideas.'

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BIS-SACD-1738

  • UPC: 7318599917382

  • Label: BIS

  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn

  • Conductor: Lev Markiz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Amsterdam Sinfonietta