Modern Times Edition / Steffens, Rheinland-Pfalz State Philharmonic

Regular price $47.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

When in 2014 Capriccio started the cooperation with Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz, no one ever thought that we would be able to present a 10CD-Collection after 6 productive years. The meaning of this edition was always to fill the gaps of 20th century repertoire and to focus on composers which – most of them – never really found their place in the yearly concert schedules worldwide. That's a pity, as we can hear with this collection a lot of fascinating works of composers which were unjustly banned from the musical conscience and only got a marginal note in the musical encyclopedia. These recordings should help to give them better attention and hopefully bring them back in the concert halls.

Past praise for previously released volumes included in this set:

Antheil: Jazz Symphony & Other Works

Steffens underscores The Jazz SYmphony’s unifying characteristics rather than emphasizing its incongruities.

Pianist Frank Dupree’s finely chiseled performance in the First Piano Concerto maintains a tighter grip overall than any of his rivals.

– Gramophone

Dutilleux: Symphony No. 1; Deux Sonnets de Jean Cassou; Metaboles

The ambience of the recording is excellent and allows the intricate detail of these pieces to be heard to advantage. For listeners who do not know the music of Henri Dutilleux this is an ideal introductory album: enthusiasts of the composers will demand this disc for their collection.

– MusicWeb International

Zimmermann: Modern Times

Photoptosis is usually considered Zimmermann's defining work but never has it sounded so raw-boned and unrelenting: kudos to the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz and Karl-Heinz Steffens for pulling off such a chancy, intrepid performance.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 07, 2020

  • Catalog Number: C7337

  • UPC: 845221073378

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 10

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Conductor: Karl-Heinz Steffens

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz