Moór: Music for Viola / Hegemann, Báll, Rosenstein String Quartet, Anima Musicæ, Antal

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The works of Emanuel Moór (1863–1931) ought to be celebrated as among the major achievements of Romantic music, but because of Moór’s peripatetic life – he was born in Hungary, studied in Vienna (with Bruckner), performed in the US and across Europe, became a UK citizen and settled and died in Switzerland – no country has claimed and promoted him to the degree he deserves. Moór’s musical language offers a deeply satisfying blend of contrapuntal mastery and ardent lyricism, as the works on this album – written for or involving the viola – demonstrate. In time he will be recognized as one of the masters of his age.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 01, 2022

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0650

  • UPC: 5060113446503

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Emanuel Moor

  • Conductor: Matyas Antal

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Rosenstein String Quartet, Anima Musicae Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Dirk Hegemann, David Ball, Michael Hsu, Sooeun Lee, Dirk Hegemann, Markus Tillier