Mozart: Così fan tutte [DVD]

Mozart: Così fan tutte [DVD]

Regular price $50.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“He was out to create something ‘unheard-of’,” observed conductor Nikolaus Harnoncourt beforehand. And true to form: What the conductor had to offer as he commenced his Mozart/Da Ponte cycle in the Theater an der Wien was something we “had never before heard like this” (Kurier). Nikolaus Harnoncourt, “master” of period performance practice, realized a project that had long been one of his dearest wishes: for the first time, he and his “original-sound orchestra” Concentus Musicus and his personal choice of singers were presenting the complete Mozart/Da Ponte cycle and harvesting the fruits of his Mozart research – an “enthusiastically acclaimed cycle!” ( During an intensive phase of rehearsal and preparation, he was in search of a Mozart hermeneutic resting on historical sources and yet anchored in our own time, in order to stage the whole Da Ponte “trilogy” – Le nozze di Figaro, Don Giovanni and Così fan tutte – in a matter of a mere six weeks. “The culmination of Harnoncourt’s involvement with [Mozart’s Da Ponte operas] – A Mozart drawn from historical sources and yet anchored in our own time.” (Die Presse)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 21, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 804108

  • UPC: 814337017514

  • Label: Unitel Edition

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Arnold Schoenberg Choir, Concentus Musicus Wien

  • Performer: Andrè Schuen, Elisabeth Kulman, Katija Dragojevic, Mari Eriksmoen, Markus Werba, Mauro Peter