Mozart: Piano Concertos / Edwin Fischer

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Along with Schnabel, in the first half of the 20th century Edwin Fischer was generally regarded as the greatest interpreter of the Germanic classics - Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms. This was the period when recording came of age, and many first recorded performances, regarded as definitive in their time and still thought amongst the greatest even today, were set down by Fischer. Supreme among them were the first complete recording of Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier and the Mozart concertos presented here.

These are the only Mozart concerto recordings Fischer was to make commercially except for a LP remake of the D minor in 1954. Their status is such that they should never be out of the catalogue, and we are delighted therefore to reissue these APR transfers (previously on APR5523, 5524 & 5525) as a budget priced 3CD set. Also included are most of Fisher’s solo recordings of Mozart and his only recording of a Haydn concerto.

- APR Recordings

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: APR7303

  • UPC: 5024709173037

  • Label: APR Recordings

  • Composer: Franz Joseph Haydn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Edwin Fischer, Josef Krips, Lawrence Collingwood, Sir John Barbirolli

  • Performer: Edwin Fischer