Mozart: Concertos nos. 24 (K. 491) & 17 (K. 453) / Le Sage, Leleux, Gävle Symfoniorkester

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Mozart’s piano concertos form a set that is not just exceptional but absolutely unique in the history of music: from No. 9 to No. 27, all are definitive masterpieces. According to H.C. Robbins Landon, an eminent specialist in the composer’s life and work, ‘It is above all their immense stylistic diversity that places Mozart’s piano concertos above and beyond those of his contemporaries’. What these scores also share is their position at a crossroads for strongly impacting influences: that of the symphony, encouraging Mozart to make lavish use of the orchestra; the wind bands of the Imperial court, shaping his enhanced role for the woodwinds; and the influence of the opera, whose styles he worked into these concertos, often treating the dialogue between piano and orchestra as if they were stage characters. In this new recording, Eric Le Sage is joined by the Gävle Symfoniorkester to perform the 17th and 24th concertos for piano and orchestra by the Salzburg composer.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ALPHA866

  • UPC: 3760014198663

  • Label: Alpha

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gavle Symfoniorkester

  • Performer: Eric Le Sage, Francois Leleux