Mozart: Requiem, Etc / Schuldt-jensen, Leipzig Co, Et Al

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This falls very neatly into the category of clean, tidy, well-mannered, and very articulate Mozart Requiems, with crisp rhythms and expeditious tempos that perfectly suit the moderate-sized performing forces. There are so many different versions, editions, and variations of each version and edition of this famously unfinished work that your preference may just come down to whichever one you heard first, or whether you prefer period or modern instruments, Süssmayr or Levin, Decca or Telarc. Who knows--but suffice it to say, this new recording from Leipzig stands as a solid, safe choice, with no faddishness, bad soloists, or strange conductor mannerisms (except for an unnecessary, gratuitous pause just before the final chord). The only thing missing is the more pointed expression and scintillating power of some other versions on disc, from Marriner/ASMF (still my favorite Süssmayr/modern-instrument recording) to Pearlman/Boston Baroque (the Levin edition, with period instruments), or Herreweghe (Süssmayr, with period instruments). I also feel that in general the brisker tempos detract from the movements where more solemnity and weight is required. However, the keenly-drawn phrasing and careful diction, along with a more modestly-proportioned orchestra, brings an intimacy to the work that we usually don't experience.

--David Vernier,

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8557728

  • UPC: 747313272822

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Morten Schuldt-Jensen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gewandhaus Chamber Chorus, Leipzig Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Anne Buter, Marcus Ullmann, Martin Snell, Miriam Allan