1. Mussorgsky: Unorthodox Music / Booth, Glynn

Mussorgsky: Unorthodox Music / Booth, Glynn

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
First Percy Grainger: Folk Music, then Edvard Grieg: Lyric Music, and now Modest Mussorgsky: Unorthodox Music – a logical sequence in soprano Claire Booth’s and pianist Christopher Glynn’s growing AVIE discography, interspersing a selection of under-represented songs with solo piano works by this most individual and idiosyncratic of all Russian composers. Claire and Chris approach Modest Mussorgsky: Unorthodox Music in the spirit of a storyteller, tracing an arc of life from innocence to experience that is arranged across a prologue and four “scenes” – Nursery, Youthful Years, Marriage and Loneliness – taking their cue from the colorful tableaux of the composer’s operas. Individual numbers from the great song cycles – Youthful Years, Nursery, Sunless, and Songs and Dances of Death – are juxtaposed with works from Mussorgsky’s more unorthodox output, all delivered by Claire and Chris with disarming affect.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: AV2457

  • UPC: 822252245721

  • Label: Avie

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky

  • Performer: Christopher Glynn, Claire Booth