Mustonen: String Quartet No. 1; Piano Concerto / Engegård Quartet

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Olli Mustonen about his works: “It is not a coincidence that many composers seem to have written some of their most important and meaningful works for the string quartet. I grew up listening to string quartets, especially those by Beethoven and Bartók, and those works have had a tremendous impact on what I am as a composer, musician and as a human being. In many of my works one can see some sort of journey from darkness toward the light, in various forms. In the case of my String Quartet this journey is exceptionally arduous. There is an element of hope in some sections of the third movement, but the hope it offers is more of an otherworldly variety. In the beginning of the fourth movement the very dramatic elements of the beginning of the quartet return. Just at that point, as the listener thinks that the darker elements will ultimately prevail, the music reaches an important turning-point…

"My Piano Quintet consists of three movements. The first movement is filled with drama and passion. Its’ atmosphere can be seen to be related to my Second Symphony “Johannes Angelos” – a work that has been inspired by a historical novel taking place in the middle of the turbulent times during the last months of the Byzantine Empire in Constantinople. The second movement is a set of polyphonic variations in a form reminiscent of a passacaglia. The music seems to be hypnotized by a theme consisting of a chromatic cluster of ten notes. Finally, the passacaglia winds down to along, single low G sharp played by the first violin.”

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: LWC1243

  • UPC: 7090020182650

  • Label: Lawo

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Olli Mustonen

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Engegard Quartet

  • Performer: Olli Mustonen