Nicolaou: Etudes & Frames / Stefanovich, Aimard

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On Etudes & Frames, pianist Tamara Stefanovich presents the music of contemporary master Vassos Nicolaou. In his Etudes, Nicolaou uses virtuosity as a means to explore forms made of complex rhythms, great speed and multi-layered sound. Each of the fifteen etudes has an evocative title and focuses on specific geometrical-choreographical movements of the hands on the keyboard, as well as on a basic acoustical idea. For Stefanovich, this set has a structural integrity not seen since Ligeti’s Etudes. Nicolaou’s etudes are paired with Frames for two pianos, on which Stefanovich is joined by Pierre-Laurent Aimard. Stefanovich studied together with Nicolaou and has been an important advocate of his music ever since. Dedicating an entire album to his music is a dream come true. Tamara Stefanovich is captivating audiences worldwide with a broad repertoire ranging from Bach to contemporary composers. Etudes & Frames is her third Pentatone album, after having released Influences (2019) and Visions (2022, together with Pierre-Laurent Aimard) with the label.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 03, 2023

  • Catalog Number: PTC5187041

  • UPC: 8717306260411

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Vassos Nicolaou

  • Performer: Tamara Stefanovich, Pierre-Laurent Aimard


  1. Etudes

    Composer: Vassos Nicolaou

    Performer: Tamara Stefanovich (PIano)

  2. Frames for piano 4-hands

    Composer: Vassos Nicolaou

    Performer: Tamara Stefanovich (PIano), Pierre-Laurent Aimard (Piano)