No Subject / East Axis

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
East Axis Is like the cumulative life experience of its members. East Axis is four men (Scott Robinson, Matthew Shipp, Kevin Ray, Gerald Cleaver), of...

East Axis Is like the cumulative life experience of its members. East Axis is four men (Scott Robinson, Matthew Shipp, Kevin Ray, Gerald Cleaver), of different styles and backgrounds, coming together to spontaneously make music that sounds like each of them, all of them, and none of them. The music is like a dream of many scenes, but one observed with precision and the deepest type of understanding. The sound of it is a running commentary on the intersection of experience and that dream; a map of places that these musicians are still trying to explore. Their sophomore album, No Subject, is being released via Mack Avenue Music Group/Brother Mister Productions.


As multi-reedist Scott Robinson takes the horn chair from Allen Lowe, all is delivered and then some on No Subject, the second, reason-defying release from chameleonic improvisers pianist Matthew Shipp, bassist Kevin Ray, and drummer Gerald Cleaver.

After the clangorous beauty of Cool With That, and each man's independent penchant for rancorous give and take, it may come as a surprise to many that these guys can speed-shift from near melodic collapse ("Decisions Have Been Made," "Metal Sounds," "Excuse My Absence") to a casual late night blue dance ("Sometime Tomorrow") or soft shoe swing ("I Like It Very Much") wherein Shipp, Cleaver, and Ray range from mad to mellow so innately as to possibly inspire a smooth two step across the dance floor.

The twelve adventurous episodes take on all shapes and logics with a brazen adherence to themes which are fertile with anticipation and continuity. This is how freedom plays.

-- (Mike Jurkovic)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 27, 2023

  • UPC: 673203400320

  • Catalog Number: BRO4003

  • Label: Brother Mister Productions

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Jazz

  • Composer: Gerald Cleaver, Kevin Ray, Scott Robinson, Matthew Shipp

  • Conductor: At The Very Least, I Like It Very Much, Somebody Just Go In, Please, Sometime Tomorrow, Decisions Have Already Been Made, Metal Sounds, Excuse My Absence, I Take That Back, To Be Honest, Word and Respect, See What You Think, No Subject

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: East Axis

  • Performer: East Axis


  1. At The Very Least

    Ensemble: East Axis

  2. I Like It Very Much

    Ensemble: East Axis

  3. Somebody Just Go In, Please

    Ensemble: East Axis

  4. Sometime Tomorrow

    Ensemble: East Axis

  5. Decisions Have Already Been Made

    Ensemble: East Axis

  6. Metal Sounds

    Ensemble: East Axis

  7. Excuse My Absence

    Ensemble: East Axis

  8. I Take That Back

    Ensemble: East Axis

  9. To Be Honest

    Ensemble: East Axis

  10. Word and Respect

    Ensemble: East Axis

  11. See What You Think

    Ensemble: East Axis

  12. No Subject

    Ensemble: East Axis