Oleg Maisenberg Plays Grieg & Schubert

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Pianist Oleg Maisenberg, by now 78 years old, looks back on an impressive worldwide career. On the present album he is accompanied by Adam Fisher – not any less successful – and the former SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden and Freiburg. Maisenberg performs Grieg's Piano Concerto in A minor, one of the few compositions in which the Norwegian composer approaches large-size works. Though the concerto includes intentional references to Norwegian folk music, the close connection to German Romanticism manifests itself in it as well and the undeniable parallels to Robert Schumann’s piano concerto are quite visible. The demands of Schubert's Wanderer Fantasy, the second monumental work on this album, regarding playing skills and technique are enormous so that this work has always been one of the showpieces of the repertoire for solo piano. “Just let the devil play that stuff”, Schubert himself allegedly once said. The virtuoso quality of the piece was certainly the reason why Franz Liszt was so enthusiastic about it.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 13, 2023

  • Catalog Number: SWR19140CD

  • UPC: 747313914081

  • Label: SWR Classic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Edvard Grieg, Franz Schubert

  • Conductor: Adam Fischer

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

  • Performer: Oleg Maisenberg


  1. Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in A Minor, Op. 16

    Ensemble: SWR Sinfonieorchester Baden-Baden und Freiburg

    Performer: Oleg Maisenberg (Piano)

    Conductor: Adam Fischer

  2. Fantasy in C Major, Op. 15, D. 760, "Wandererfantasie"

    Performer: Oleg Maisenberg (Piano)