Olsen: Complete Piano Music / Aase

Olsen: Complete Piano Music / Aase

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Norwegian folksong and -dance constitute the very DNA of the music of Carl Gustav Sparre Olsen (1903–84), on both a large and a small scale – from Draumkvedet, the 1936 oratorio that was his first major success, to the tiny miniatures that form most of his piano music, recorded here in its entirety for the first time. The apparent simplicity of much of this material belies the unassuming sophistication of its construction: many of these pieces, some barely a minute long, seem – to adapt William Blake – to contain the world in a grain of sand.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: TOCC0584

  • UPC: 5060113445841

  • Label: Toccata Classics

  • Composer: Carl Gustav Sparre Olsen

  • Performer: Øyvind Aase