1. Only Love Will Stay

Only Love Will Stay

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Rale Micic has played with such artists as Tom Harrell, Don Friedman, Peter Bernstein, Eric Alexander, Greg Hutchinson, but it’s the striking originality with which he plays his own music that really distinguishes him from other jazz guitar talents. On his new recording, “Only Love Will Stay,” Micic creates layers of original sounds, featuring a backbone in acoustic jazz ala John Abercrombie, the intricate textures of his internal conversations, and continuing through the loving melodic rhythms of his native Serbia. The session, with Jared Gold on keys and Geoff Clapp and Johnathan Blake on drums, is both relaxed and substantial, joyful and chill, starring the filigreed sounds of Micic’s Sadowsky archtop and the tasty choices of empathic accompanists. The result, on tunes like the dark and dramatic title track which opens the record, right through to the lush, atmospheric closer “Lipe Cvatu,” in 7/8, is enrapturing without going too deep into the margins and intoxicating without over-exerting. Micic’s “Only Love Will Stay” is a joyful experience and a stunning excursion into the mind of a truly original artist.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 07, 2021

  • Catalog Number: WCS127

  • UPC: 687606012721

  • Label: Whaling City Sound

  • Number of Discs: 1