Passenier: Fight for Light / Ikonen, Houdijk, Vicent, ADDA Simfònica

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On Fight for Light, Dutch composer Jesse Passenier explores the peripheries of jazz and classical, marrying the two genres together through symphonic music. The music presents a struggle for strength, goodness, and clarity, in which moments for great energy and urgency give way to quiet purity.

The album contains three works by Passenier: Piano Concerto No. 1 “Levensdrift” (a Dutch word meaning “the primal urge to live”); Vibraphone & Marimba Concerto No. 1 “Becoming the Colour”; and Duo for Vibraphone & Piano “Unraveling Confusion.” These pieces taken together as a whole reveal Passenier’s breadth as a composer, offering a musical commentary on the realities we face in today’s society.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: NV6459

  • UPC: 896931007597

  • Label: Navona

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Jesse Passenier

  • Conductor: Josep Vicent

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Adda Simfonica

  • Performer: Kari Ikonen, Vincent Houdijk