Dvorak, Janacek: Pohádka: Tales from Prague to Budapest / Heijden, Coleman - ArkivMusic

Dvorak, Janacek: Pohádka: Tales from Prague to Budapest / Heijden, Coleman

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Exclusive Chandos Artist Laura van der Heijden’s label debut explores the rich musical heritage of Bohemia. Born in England to Dutch-Swiss parents, Laura’s career highlights already include winning the BBC Young Musician competition (aged just 15), the Edison Klassiek Award 2018 (for her debut album) and BBC Music Magazine’s Newcomer Award in 2019. Laura writes: ‘Jâms and I first met in 2017, where I heard him play and was mesmerized by the sensitivity of his musicianship and the colors he managed to create on the piano. Our first concert together took place in the summer of 2018 and included Janácek’s Pohádka. Both of us felt incredibly drawn to this piece and also to Janácek’s musical language. One of the reasons we were particularly enamored of Pohádka (a Czech word which loosely translates as ‘A Tale’) was the focus of the piece on storytelling and how that invited us to let our creativity and imagination flow. This is the common thread spun throughout the repertoire that we have selected for this album; all the pieces embody the notion of passing on ancient folk tales, tales which have lived amongst peoples and across lands for centuries.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: February 11, 2022

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20227

  • UPC: 095115222720

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Antonin Dvorak, Leos Janacek

  • Performer: Laura van der Heijden, Jâms Coleman